Training Provider: Builders License Training Institute
Please Note: This course is a pre-recorded online anytime seminar which allows you to be trained and certified at the convenience of your own schedule and in the luxury of your own home!
All Contractors must complete an 8-Hour Virginia Contractor Basic Business Course before the Commonwealth of Virginia will grant a license. This course also prepares you for the State exams. If you are a building contractor, electrical contractor, plumbing contractor, HVAC contractor, highway or heavy equipment contractor or any specialty that does not fall into one of these categories, you must complete a State-approved 8-hour basic business course to get licensed.
This 8-Hour Basic Business Course is an online course that accomplishes two objectives: 1) Fulfills the 8-hour Contractor Basic Business requirement by the Commonwealth and 2) Prepares you for the Virginia Part 1, 2 3 (for Class A or B) portions of exam. Class C must also take an exam.
The Virginia Business and Project Management Book should be purchased separately for use in this course and during your exam prep, and is available through several online outlets.
The Following Topics Will Be Covered:
Once you complete the 8-hour Contractor Basic Business requirement, we will forward your test scores to the Commonwealth of Virginia and email a copy to you.
How long does it take to complete the course?
Each Virginia Licensing Exam course takes approximately 8 hours, but we move rapidly through the materials. For a thorough review, you may want to allow twice that amount of time. Once you register, you have up to 6 months before your course is deactivated.
How do I get my contractor license in Virginia?
According to the Virginia Code, contractor licenses are issued to businesses and not individuals, even if the business is a sole proprietorship with one employee. All contractors of any kind must complete an 8-hour Contractor Basic Business course. Courses may be taken online or in a classroom as long as they are approved by the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Steps to obtain your Virginia Contractors license:
1. Successfully complete the 8-hour Virginia Contractor Basic Business course available through an approved provider.
2. Successfully PASS the required parts of the contractors exam that measures your knowledge of the profession.
3. Obtain a Contractor’s License application from the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation:
Commonwealth of Virginia
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485
4. Submit the Contractor’s License application and supporting documents to the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation. You will need to include a check or money order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia for the following amounts:
Class A – $385
Class B – $370
Class C – $235
NOTE – You may also pay by credit card using the credit card form included with the application.
How do I know what test to take?
All business entities must declare a Designated Employee who (1) is a full-time employee or one of the Responsible Managers (see Part I of the Board for Contractors Rules and Regulations); (2) is at least 18 years of age; and (3) has successfully completed the examination requirements.
The Designated Employee examination tests the candidate’s general business knowledge, their knowledge of the laws and regulations governing contractors and, if the applicant is seeking the Building (BLD) specialty classification on their license, their knowledge of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code.
How long is my license good for?
Original contractor’s licenses expire two years from the month in which is was issued.
Are Virginia Contractor licenses reciprocal with any other States?
As of January 1, 2012, the Commercial Building Contractor license is reciprocal with Louisiana, however, residency is required. For detailed information about this agreement, please contact the Board for Contractors at firstname.lastname@example.org or 804-367-8511.
Contractor licenses consist of two parts, the class of the license, which determines what, if any restrictions are placed on the size of contracts/projects that may be performed and the classification/specialty, which determines what type of work the licensed contractor is allowed to perform.
The Board for Contractors issues licenses in one of three classes: Class A, Class B and Class C. In most cases, the type of license you should apply for is based on the value or contract price of the projects your business will be bidding on or engaged in (see the Note below for specific exceptions). Please read the following definitions before deciding which contractor license is suitable for your business.
Note: Landscape Irrigation and Water Well contractors must be licensed as a Class A, Class B or Class C contractor regardless of the dollar amount of the project or contract.
Does the Commonwealth of Virginia grant temporary licenses?
The Board for Contractors issues Temporary licenses to out-of-state contractor entities only. Temporary licenses are for those out-of-state entities that need a license while it waits to get all permanent license requirements in place. Temporary licenses are valid for 45 days and cannot be renewed, reinstated, reissued or reapplied for. The cost of a Temporary license is $50.00. In order to obtain a Temporary license, the out-of-state applicant must submit its application for Temporary licensure simultaneously with its application for permanent licensure, provide a letter of good standing from the “other state,” and pay both application fees.
What is required in order to be a Qualified Individual for a company?
All business entities must have a Qualified Individual for each of the classifications and specialties listed on their application. The Qualified Individual is the person that has the appropriate amount of experience in the classification or specialty being applied for on the application. A person may be the Qualified Individual for more than one classification or specialty. This individual must be either a full-time employee or a member of Responsible Management of the business applying for the license and must have a minimum amount of work experience within the scope of practice of their specialty. Qualified Individuals for Class A applicants must have a minimum of five years experience, three years experience for Class B and two years of experience for Class C.
|Certificates||For live classes, certificates will be issued on day of course completion.|
|Food||No food provided|
The Builders License Training Institute helps thousands of builders and contractors get licensed and complete their continuing education requirements each year. Our courses are builder-friendly and guide you through every step of the process. All of our courses are created by real builders with decades of experience and expertise. Study at your own pace 24/7 from any computer or mobile device.