In Michigan, Builders and Contractors are required to complete continuing education hours during each 3-year licensing cycle, if you were licensed on or after January 1, 2009. Take this 21-Hour Michigan Builders Continuing Education course to fulfill your requirements. Please Note: If you were licensed January 1, 2009 or after, you must complete 21 hours of continuing competency the first three years of your licensing cycle, and another 21 hours during the second three-year cycle. After 6 years of licensing, you only need to take the 3 hour Code/Law/Safety once during each 3 year licensing cycle. Students will have up to six months of access to course content.